Updated 19 October 2026
Commission-free online ordering for UK restaurants
*Chefzi takes 0% commission. If you take online card payments, standard Stripe card processing fees still apply.
What "commission-free" should mean
"Commission-free" gets used loosely. Some providers drop the commission but add a service fee to every customer's basket. Others charge a few pence per order and call it a "transaction fee". Some are free until you need card payments, and then the margin appears there.
When we say Chefzi is commission-free, we mean:
- 0% commission on every order, whatever its size.
- No per-order fee charged to you by Chefzi.
- No service fee added to your customer's order by Chefzi.
- No setup fee.
- One flat monthly price: £0 for the first 3 months, then £19 a month without online card payments or £29 a month with them.
The one cost we cannot remove is card processing. If you take card payments online, Standard Stripe card processing fees apply on each transaction, just as your card machine provider does in the shop. Cash orders carry no processing fee at all.
Why a flat fee beats a percentage as you grow
A percentage looks small on a single order. The problem is that it grows with you. Every extra order you win, through good food, a well-placed leaflet or a strong Google Maps listing, hands a slice to the platform.
A flat fee works the other way round. The more orders you take, the less the platform costs per order. Here is the arithmetic with a simple example, using made-up round numbers so you can follow it, not figures from any real restaurant:
| Weekly online orders at a £25 average | A 15% commission costs you per month* | Chefzi (after the free 3 months) |
|---|---|---|
| 50 | about £812 | £19, or £29 with card payments |
| 100 | about £1,625 | £19, or £29 with card payments |
| 200 | about £3,250 | £19, or £29 with card payments |
*Illustrative only: weekly orders × £25 × 15% × 52 ÷ 12. Marketplace rates vary by platform and contract, and Stripe fees apply to card orders on Chefzi. Put in your own numbers with the commission calculator, and see the published marketplace rates in our guide to Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats commission.
Where commission-free ordering fits in your business
You do not have to choose between a marketplace and your own ordering page. A common approach for UK takeaways looks like this:
- Keep the marketplace for discovery. People browsing an app for "pizza near me" will still find you there.
- Move regulars to your own page. Put your ordering link on your menu leaflets, bag stickers, receipts and social profiles.
- Put the link on Google. Adding an order link to your Google Business Profile sends people who search for you by name straight to commission-free ordering. Our step-by-step guide shows how to add an order online link to Google Business Profile.
- Mind the marketplace terms. Some marketplace contracts have rules about pricing and about contacting customers. Our Just Eat alternative page explains what to check before you change prices or menus.
More ideas are in our post on how to reduce delivery app commission.
What you get for the flat fee
- Your own ordering website with your menu, or ordering added to your current site with the embed widget.
- Menus that cope with real orders: required choices such as size or base, and multi-select extras such as toppings and sides.
- Separate collection and delivery hours, so each service opens when your kitchen is ready.
- Holiday closures, so the page stops taking orders when you are shut.
- Pre-orders with a lead time you set.
- Delivery zones and charges you control (see delivery zones).
- A kitchen app that keeps alerting until an order is accepted (order app).
- Online card payments through Stripe on the £29 plan (payments). Standard Stripe card processing fees apply.
- QR table ordering, with a code on each table (table ordering).
What it does not include: a till, a self-service kiosk, a branded app-store app, a loyalty points scheme or courier integrations. You deliver with your own drivers or offer collection.
How Chefzi's pricing compares
Several UK providers now advertise 0% commission, and a few have £0 monthly plans, so we will not claim to be the only one or the lowest-priced. What we can show is how the flat fee compares with some well-known paid platforms, using prices each provider published on 19 October 2026:
| Provider | Published monthly fee | Commission | Setup or onboarding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chefzi | £0 for 3 months, then £19, or £29 with online card payments | 0% | None |
| Flipdish website and ordering | From £49 a month billed annually, £69 monthly | Not published | Not stated |
| Flipdish essential point of sale | From £119 a month billed annually, £139 monthly, ex VAT | Not published | Not stated |
| Slerp | £125–£250 per site | Platform fee plus card processing | £500 (waived if live within 30 days) |
| Storekit Grow | £99 | 0% | From £199 per location on higher tiers |
| Owner.com (US pricing) | $249 plus a 5% fee, or $499 flat | 5% on the Flexible plan | Not stated |
Sources: flipdish.com/gb/pricing, slerp.com/ai-info-page, storekit.com/pricing and owner.com/pricing, checked 19 October 2026. For the providers with £0 plans and how they charge instead, see the best online ordering systems in the UK. For the full Chefzi price list, see pricing.
Leaving GloriaFood?
GloriaFood, a popular commission-free option, closes on 30 April 2027. If you rely on it, Chefzi keeps the same 0% model with a flat fee. Our GloriaFood alternative page and migration guide explain how to move your menu and customers without a gap in orders.
Start taking commission-free orders
Book a short call and we will set up your ordering page with you. There is no setup fee and nothing to pay for 3 months.
*Chefzi takes 0% commission. If you take online card payments, standard Stripe card processing fees still apply.
Questions
Is Chefzi really commission-free?
Yes. Chefzi charges 0% commission on every order. You pay a flat monthly fee: nothing for the first 3 months, then £19 a month, or £29 a month if you take online card payments. Standard Stripe card processing fees apply.
How does Chefzi make money without commission?
From the flat monthly subscription. Because the fee does not change with your order volume, a busier month does not cost you more.
Is there a setup fee?
No. There is no setup fee, and the first 3 months are free.
Are card payments free?
Chefzi does not take a cut of card payments, but standard Stripe card processing fees apply on each card transaction. Restaurants on the £19 plan take cash orders, including cash on delivery and cash on collection, and those cash orders have no processing fee.
Should I leave Just Eat, Deliveroo or Uber Eats completely?
Not necessarily. Many takeaways keep a marketplace listing to reach new customers and move regulars to their own commission-free ordering page. Our commission calculator helps you see what that shift is worth.
Are there other commission-free ordering systems in the UK?
Yes. Several UK providers also advertise 0% commission, and some have £0 monthly plans that make money through per-order or customer fees instead. Compare the total yearly cost, not just the headline.