Skip to content
Black Friday & Cyber Monday offer is on: get 3 months of Chefzi free. No setup fee. 0% commission.

Blog

Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats commission in the UK: what restaurants actually pay

Updated 19 October 2026 · Arslan Munir

Commission is the biggest variable cost most UK takeaways have after food and staff, and the numbers people quote are often out of date or second-hand. This guide uses what the three platforms publish themselves, checked on 19 October 2026 and linked below. Where a platform doesn’t publish a figure, we say so. Just Eat’s 14% and 30% figures are reported: a direct fetch of just-eat.co.uk was blocked on 19 October 2026, and the wording below is what the public index of Just Eat’s partner sign-up page showed. Do not treat them as a rate we re-read from the live page that day.

The rates at a glance

PlatformYou deliverPlatform deliversCollectionUp-front feeVAT
Just EatReported 14%Reported 30%Not stated on the page we checkedNot stated on the page we checkedPlus VAT
Uber Eats13%30% (33% for Uber One members)13%£650 activation, excluding VAT, adjustableFees exclude VAT
DeliverooNot published (Marketplace+ is your own riders)Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedFee is a percentage of order value including VAT, plus VAT

Sources: Just Eat partner sign-up, Uber Eats UK pricing, Deliveroo partner terms.

Just Eat

The text indexed from Just Eat’s UK partner sign-up page says:

  • 14% commission plus VAT, reported, if you deliver with your own drivers. Its worked example on a £20 order is £3.36: £2.80 commission plus 56p VAT.
  • 30% commission plus VAT, reported, if Just Eat delivers. On a £20 order that is £7.20.
  • Partners are invoiced on Tuesdays and paid on Fridays.
  • Restaurants need a food hygiene rating of 3 or above (Pass in Scotland).

The clause most restaurants miss: the price promise. Just Eat’s UK restaurant terms (dated 18 December 2025) include clause 7.18, “Your Price Promise”. It says that unless you and Just Eat have agreed otherwise, the prices, discounts and special offers you provide on the platform, including your delivery charges and minimum order values, “must be no less favourable than those offered to consumers via your own online channels”. You must also tell Just Eat about the prices and offers on your website (Just Eat terms PDF).

In practice, if you’re on Just Eat, a direct-only price cut, a lower delivery fee or a lower minimum may conflict with clause 7.18 unless you have agreed it with Just Eat. Read your own agreement, which may differ. A shorter collection wait, and a page that is easy to find on Google, are not a lower price.

Uber Eats

Uber Eats’ UK pricing page lists:

  • Uber Delivery: 30%, or 33% for Uber One members
  • Self-delivery: 13%
  • Pick-up: 13%
  • None of these include VAT
  • Activation fee: £650 excluding VAT. This covers a tablet, a printer, menu creation, professional photography, a window sticker, a welcome pack and a training call. Uber says the fee can be adjusted if you opt out of some of these.

Uber also offers Uber Direct, where Uber’s couriers deliver orders taken on your own website or app for a per-delivery fee. It’s a different product from the marketplace.

Deliveroo

Deliveroo doesn’t publish a standard commission rate on the public partner pages we checked. What its partner terms do say is worth knowing:

  • The service fee, whether for Deliveroo delivery, Marketplace+ or Pickup, is “a percentage of GMV (inclusive of VAT) per order, plus VAT at the prevailing rate”. The percentage is applied to the order total including VAT, and then VAT is added to the fee.
  • Marketplace+ means you deliver with your own riders while appearing on the Deliveroo app, and you set your own delivery area, delivery fees and minimum spend (Deliveroo Marketplace+).

Your actual percentage will be in your Deliveroo agreement. If you’re negotiating, ask for each rate (delivery, Marketplace+, pickup) in writing. This site does not quote a Deliveroo percentage.

Worked examples on a £20 order

These use the reported Just Eat rates and the published Uber Eats rates above, with VAT at the UK standard rate of 20% added to the fee. They exclude card processing and any other charges. Deliveroo is not in the table because it does not publish a rate.

ScenarioFeeVAT on feeTotal cost to youYou keep from £20
Just Eat, your drivers (reported 14%)£2.80£0.56£3.36£16.64
Just Eat delivers (reported 30%)£6.00£1.20£7.20£12.80
Uber Eats self-delivery or pickup (13%)£2.60£0.52£3.12£16.88
Uber Eats delivers (30%)£6.00£1.20£7.20£12.80
Uber Eats delivers, Uber One customer (33%)£6.60£1.32£7.92£12.08

If you’re VAT-registered, you can normally reclaim the VAT on these fees. If you’re not VAT-registered, which applies to many small takeaways, the VAT is a real cost.

On the “you deliver” rows you still pay your own drivers, so the money you keep has to cover delivery as well. How to set those fees is in delivery fees and minimum orders.

How to work out your own monthly cost

  1. Take last month’s orders from each app and the average order value. Both are in your partner portal or invoices.
  2. Multiply orders × average order value × your rate, then add 20% VAT on the result.
  3. Add any fixed fees, such as tablet rental or the activation fee spread over the months you expect to stay.
  4. Compare with what the same orders would cost through your own ordering system.

The commission calculator does steps 2 to 4 for you.

A quick comparison with a flat fee

Chefzi costs £19 a month for cash or no-card payments (£22.80 including VAT), or £29 a month with online card payments through Stripe (£34.80 including VAT), with no commission. Standard Stripe card processing fees apply (pricing). Using the £3.36 figure reported on Just Eat’s sign-up page for a £20 own-driver order, seven of those orders a month cost more in reported Just Eat commission than a month of the £19 plan (7 × £3.36 = £23.52, against £22.80 including VAT). Eleven of those orders pass the £29 card plan including VAT (£34.80). Standard Stripe card processing fees apply on the card plan, so add them when comparing like with like.

That isn’t an argument to leave the apps. They bring customers you might never reach on your own. It’s an argument to give customers who already know you a direct route that is easy to use. Do not advertise a lower price, a direct-only discount, a lower delivery fee or a lower minimum than you show on Just Eat, unless you have agreed it.

Questions to ask before you sign or renew

The headline percentage is only part of the cost. These are worth asking each platform in writing, because the answers are in your agreement rather than on the public pages:

  • Which rate applies to which order type? Delivery, own-driver, collection and any “virtual brand” listings may each have their own rate.
  • Is the percentage taken on the food subtotal, or on the total including delivery fees and VAT? Deliveroo’s terms say GMV including VAT. Ask the others the same question.
  • Who pays for refunds and missing-item complaints, and how are disputes handled?
  • Is there a charge for the tablet, printer or menu photography, and is it one-off or monthly?
  • Are promotions or sponsored placement charged on top, and can you switch them off?
  • Is there a price-parity clause, and does it cover delivery fees and minimum orders on your own website?
  • What is the notice period to leave, and do you keep your menu photos if you do?

Write the answers next to your monthly order numbers. That one page will tell you more than any comparison article, including this one.

What to do with this

  • Keep the marketplaces for discovery if they bring you new customers.
  • Give regulars a direct route: your own ordering link on Google Business Profile, your website, your bags and your window. Takeaway online ordering is the product page for that lane.
  • Check your contracts for price-parity clauses before you advertise a lower direct price, a direct-only discount, a lower delivery fee or a lower minimum. A shorter wait is not a price cut.
  • Don’t build your business on one app. Commission rates and terms are set by them, and they can change.

For practical tactics, read how to reduce delivery app commission, or see the Just Eat alternative page.

Questions

How much commission does Just Eat charge UK restaurants?

Just Eat’s UK partner sign-up page is reported to show 14% commission plus VAT when you deliver with your own drivers and 30% plus VAT when Just Eat delivers. On a £20 order that is £3.36 and £7.20 respectively, including VAT on the fee. A direct fetch of just-eat.co.uk was blocked on 19 October 2026, so these figures are reported from that page, not re-read from the live HTML. Your contract can differ.

What does Uber Eats charge restaurants in the UK?

Uber Eats’ UK pricing page lists 30% when Uber delivers (33% for Uber One members), 13% for self-delivery and 13% for pickup, excluding VAT, plus a £650 activation fee excluding VAT that can be adjusted if you opt out of some included services.

What is Deliveroo’s commission rate in the UK?

Deliveroo does not publish a standard rate on its public partner pages. Its terms say the service fee is a percentage of the order value including VAT, plus VAT. Your rate is set in your contract, so ask Deliveroo for it in writing.

Is VAT charged on delivery app commission?

Just Eat’s reported commission is plus VAT, Uber Eats states its fees exclude VAT, and Deliveroo’s terms add VAT to its service fee. If you are not VAT-registered, you cannot reclaim that VAT.

Can I charge lower prices on my own website than on Just Eat?

Check your contract first. Just Eat’s UK restaurant terms include a price promise clause saying that, unless agreed otherwise, prices, discounts and offers on the platform must be no less favourable than on your own online channels, including delivery charges and minimum order values. Do not assume you can undercut Just Eat.

Sources

Accessed 19 October 2026.

Related guides

Keep the next order.

3 months free, then £19 a month for cash or no-card payments, or £29 a month with online card payments through Stripe. Standard Stripe card processing fees apply. No setup fee. We move the menu.

Get started